Town Manager's Office

JBEThe town manager is the chief administrative officer of the Town. As such he oversees the day-to-day operations and ensures that the necessary resources are available for the Town’s departments to implement the policies of West Point Town Council to serve the Town’s citizens. As town manager, John serves at the pleasure of the town council.

John is originally from the Town of Smithfield, Virginia, and assumed the role of West Point Town Manager in August 2011. Prior to joining the Town of West Point, John held several local government positions including assistant county administrator and emergency services coordinator in Surry County, Virginia, as well as senior planner, senior development project coordinator, and manager of development plan review for the City of Newport News. John began his career in local government as a part-time public works employee for the Town of Smithfield before becoming a planner for Isle of Wight County. John served his community as a volunteer firefighter for approximately 15 years.

In addition to his duties as town manager, John serves in various regional capacities including chairman of the Middle Peninsula Regional Airport, chairman of the Middle Peninsula Chesapeake Bay Public Access Authority, and member of the Pamunkey Regional Library Board of Trustees. John recently completed a second three-year term on the Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission.

John earned his master’s degree from Virginia Commonwealth University in Urban and Regional Planning and his bachelor’s degree from Christopher Newport University in Governmental Administration.

John and his wife, Rickie, have been married for 25 years and have two sons, Parker and Bentley. John and his family are active members of West Point United Methodist Church and enjoy spending time outdoors. They love camping, kayaking, boating, and fishing, and have been very active in Scouts BSA here in West Point. John has been a scout leader for 13 years.

SEQ No First Name Last Name Profession Email Phone
1.00 John Edwards Jr. Town Manager (804) 843-3330
2.00 Karen Barrow Town Clerk (804) 843-3330
3.00 Andrea Erard Town Attorney (804) 920-2241
4.00 Ron Minick Building Official (804) 843-3426
6.00 Tim Sawyer Chief of Police (804) 843-2800
7.00 Tiffany Webb Commonwealth's Attorney (804) 769-4917
8.00 Melissa Anderson Communications Manager and Events Coordinator (804) 843-3330
9.00 Holly McGowan Community Development Director (804) 843-3563
10.00 Spencer Cheatham Fire Chief (804) 843-3330
11.00 Donna Pauley Human Resources Director (804) 843-3330
12.00 Walt Feurer Director of Public Works (804) 843-4365
13.00 Susan Lathan Treasurer/Finance Director (804) 843-2326